I’ve decided to enter this month’s Gardening Gone Wild Photo contest. Many of the blogs I follow take part, so what the hell? This month’s theme is “awakening.” I considered a few photos…

This daffodil photo was taken in March 2009 after a rain.

raindrops on a daffodil

So was this one. I love the angle, focus, and vectors all pointing to the daff, but the colors aren’t as vibrant as I wanted, even after I fooled around with another version in Photoshop a bit.

a daffodil at home

I like this shot of a baby spinach seedling, but eh, I dunno. This was taken 2 days ago.
spinach seedling

Also taken 2 days ago, this one clearly won’t work. Alice is doing precisely the OPPOSITE of “awakening”…
Alice sleeping

…she REALLY really loves the heater.
Alice sleeping

This was taken in early February. I like it, but it doesn’t really “pop.”
pansy

In the end, I decided to enter this one. This photo of my flowering quince was taken last spring. I actually used it as my desktop wallpaper for quite some time. I was rather pleased with how pretty the sky looked and how it contrasted against the pretty salmon pink of the flower.
quince

Think I picked the right one???

Herb AlmanacMARCH 12: Wearing fresh pea blossoms attracts people and promotes friendships.

