Not a whole lot to show here for bloom day. Normally in this area, it doesn’t *really* get cold until February/March. And when it does stay cold, it generally hovers around freezing, but won’t dip below for more than a few days at a time. Well not this year! It’s already snowed a measurable amount three times and we just finally got above freezing for a bit today. So that means everything outside is frozen. The pansies are limp and sad looking, and need a good cutting back and some warm weather before they do anything. So that makes me even more happy that I brought in this pelagorium/false geranium to overwinter this year. And it bloomed!

Here it is in its natural state on top of the fridge. (Where am I going to put all that when it’s time to start seeds up there?!)

And a better look.

I’ve actually been quite busy lately. Last weekend I went ice skating at the Sculpture Garden in DC with a bunch of people…

…and saw the Terps kick some Florida State butt.

This (long) weekend, hubby and I are taking a trip up (well, left) to Luray, VA to stay in a nice cabin in the woods. We’ll soak in the hot tub and make s’mores. I was actually *supposed* to be a friend’s date at a party, and I even bought an adorable 70’s themed dress for it (it’s a 70’s theme party), but then everyone sorta forgot the dates and they ended up the same weekend. Lame! And I feel bad. But I will definitely enjoy a much-needed weekend away with the hubby. I doubt there will be any blooms in the mountains, either, but I’m sure I’ll have some nature-y pics to share when I get back. Have a great weekend, everyone!

I plan to order the rest of my seeds when I get back. And I’m still open for trades! And now some sage (and kinda funny) advice from the Herbal Almanac.

Herb AlmanacJANUARY 13: St. Hilary’s Day – This was the first day to be married after the Christmas ban. The house could be decked up with wedding herbs now: sage, lavender, jasmine, marjoram, and borage.

JANUARY 14: If you are single greet the first new moon after New Year’s by standing astride the bars of the garden gate and saying, “All haul to the Moon/Hail to thee/I prithee good moon reveal to me/This night who my wife [husband] must be.”—John Aubrey, Miscellanies, 1695

JANUARY 15: “Thy garden twifallow, ‘stroy hemlock and mallow.”—Thomas Tusser, 1557

