Yesterday we went to my aunt’s for Thanksgiving. Because I had a lot from the CSA, I brought sweet potato casserole and kale. My hubby made a shoofly pie and a maple pumpkin pie – both very good, but everyone was just totally stuffed by the time dessert came around, so I’ll be sharing them again tonight for a dinner with family friends at my parents’ house. Now enjoy some largely measurement-free recipes.

maple pumkin pie and shoofly pie made by my hubby

kale

Big Leaf Kale, Southern Style

1. Fill a giant pot with water.
2. Add twice-washed kale.
3. Add bacon. Best if you fry it up first. Feel free to dump in the grease.
4. I also add some ham-flavored soup seasoning.
5. Add a bit of salt (not too much, since the bacon and ham flavored stuff have that mostly covered) and pepper to taste.
6. Add a cup or so of vinegar and/or sherry wine. You can serve it with more after it’s cooked.
7. Cover and bring just to a boil.
8. Lower temp and simmer for as long as you like. I prefer to let the leaves not get totally wilted, but do whatever you like. I let mine sit simmering for about 3 hours yesterday.
9. Serve plain or with cider vinegar or white balsamic vinegar.

Sweet Potato Waffles

As noted above, I made sweet potato casserole (recipe linked above, too). My aunt also made candied yams, so we both ended up with a good amount of sweet potato-y leftovers. I will be bringing them to the family dinner tonight, but I wanted to use SOME beforehand because there are a lot. I based my recipe off of this one for pumpkin waffles. I made a bunch and will be freezing the extras to pop in the toaster in the AM next week. I serve my waffles with honey, but you can use whatever syrup you want.

2 1/3 c Bisquick (or make your own)
1 1/2 c milk
1/4 c vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 c mashed sweet potato mix*

* I used sweet potato casserole, so it already had milk and butter mixed in. I scooped in the topping and everything for some crunchy bits in the waffles (but you could leave them out) – just make sure it gets mixed well. If you’re using candied yams, I’d mash them up with a little milk before mixing them in and add some pumpkin pie-type spice if it wasn’t already in the dish. If you’re just using fresh or canned sweet potatoes, cook them then mash them with some cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, brown sugar, and milk to taste. Depending on the consistency of your sweet potato mash, you may need to add more or less milk in to get it to the right consistency.

