Some garden apologies.

He was pretty on fall cleanup day, but this dahlia is now in the composter (and possibly still alive there, since he went in with the whole pot and we’ve had a lot of rain). Sorry, little guy! Just no room to overwinter the likes of you 😦
Screen shot 2009-09-30 at 8.40.21 PM

Also sorry to this little guy. He was SO huge last year that I decided to pinch this aster back this year just like I did the mums so it didn’t flop over again. Only the bunnies and caterpillars also helped with the pinching back, so now he’s only got 3 blooms this year (and his counterpart asters don’t have any as of yet). Sorry!

aster

aster

This guy I left in a pot way too long. My mom got him on clearance last fall (some sort of daisy?). I stuck it in a pot over the winter, left it there in the spring, and just planted it last week. So the leaves look kind of crappy and its weirdly leggy. But the blooms are emerging and seem happy enough.
Screen shot 2009-09-30 at 8.41.35 PM

This guy is a victim of something I apparently have made a habit when dividing and replanting things. I kind of like the habit though, so I’m not sure if I’m totally apologizing or not. With daylilies, I accidentally combined a stella d’oro and a red one (unlabeled), so the one plant blooms for longer with both kinds. With this mum, I somehow combined an orange and yellow one in the same planting.

confused mum

confused mum

Sorry, plants! I’m sure there are some more apologies due, but you all know who you are. I’ll try to do better next year!

