Well…I’m back from vacation. It was wonderful! I love Hatteras. I’ve gone there for at least one week every year as long as I’ve been alive. We usually stay on Avon, but I also love Ocracoke. It’s heaven to me…but I’m very protective of it, so you can’t have it. Don’t go and don’t tell your friends. Here are a few pics from vacation, including some plant pics. (I was going to make a slideshow, but wordpress.com is weird about stuff like that and the places I used to use don’t seem to support wp anymore – boo. And now wp’s captions are acting weird. oh well…I’m sharing.)

This is the garden I was so impressed with last year (we happened to stay next door to it this year) - sadly no garden this year.

This is the garden I was so impressed with last year (we happened to stay next door to it this year) - sadly no garden this year.

beach morning glory?

beach morning glory?

wild Hatteras Island sweet pea - the namesake of Pea Island Nature Preserve at the northern end of the island

wild Hatteras Island sweet pea - the namesake of Pea Island Nature Preserve at the northern end of the island

one of many wild gaillardias on Hatteras

one of many wild gaillardias on Hatteras

My dad, my mom, and me getting ready to go up the Cape Hatteras lighthouse

My dad, my mom, and me getting ready to go up the Cape Hatteras lighthouse

Cape Hatteras lighthouse - view from the bottom

Cape Hatteras ligthouse - view from the top

Cape Hatteras ligthouse - view from the top

These things are pure evil.

These things are pure evil.

IMG_9749

our Mennonite neighbors walking to the beach

our Mennonite neighbors walking to the beach - check out her flowy dress!

IMG_9747

me and mom and me and hubby

me and mom and me and hubby

I caught a fish! Actually my mom and I caught about a million croakers. But the guys even caught "real" fish on the ocean!

I caught a fish! Actually my mom and I caught about a million croakers. But the guys even caught fish on the ocean!

So now I’m back to the real world and it’s fall. This weekend I’m going to rip out a bunch of annuals, maybe plant or pot some mums, and get ready for the season. Will take pics!

