[I’m on vacation this week, but I’d love to come back to some suggestions on this one.] I usually dry a handful or two of basil just by letting it sit on the windowsill, but I have SO MANY herbs this year, I wanted to do something a bit more official so I can use the over the winter. Seems a waste just to let them die out. I do have 2 types of basil and a sage planted in a small pot on my kitchen sill, so we’ll see if they make it all winter (the windows are drafty, so I’m not sure if it will be too chilly. Elsewhere, they won’t get enough sun).

herbjarsI had been putting off the project because I didn’t know how I was going to store things, though. And lo and behold, when I went to the local Dollar Tree to see if they still had the sea salt and pepper grinders (they didn’t), I found spice jars for sale! How perfect is that?! I bought a bunch of them – I figure I can share the love a bit, plus when else am I going to find them for $1 each?? So I bought 7, then went and picked a bunch of herbs to dry.

First I cut them, washed them well, and left them to dry out a bit.

herbs for drying

herbs for drying

Then I patted them dry some more, and tied them up into little bundles with some gift-wrap twine (not too tight, especially since they were still a little wet).

herb bundles

herb bundles

Then I tied them up to another piece of twine that I hung from a cup hook in front of the kitchen window.

hanging herbs to dry

hanging herbs to dry


hanging basil to dry

hanging basil to dry

I figure they’ll take a couple weeks to dry, then I can mix them, crush them, and put them in the jars. In the meantime, they smell awesome – especially the lemon verbena and lemon thyme. Hopefully it’ll work and I’ll be able to use them all winter. I plan on doing (for myself) one basil, one basil and oregano, one lemon verbena, one rosemary and thyme, and one sage and thyme. Any other suggestions for combos for the herbs I have? I already did one sage and lemon thyme jar from some stuff I had dried already. Only…other than putting on chicken or potatoes, I kind of have no idea what to use it for! I also don’t know what to use the lemon verbena for. Sage and lemon verbena I’m lost on. Rosemary and lemon thyme are great on roasted potatoes, though. Maybe I should do a combo of that. hmm….suggestions?
sage-lemonthyme

FYI, I am in Zone 7, so the rosemary will generally stay evergreen all winter and come back next year. The verbena and thyme should as well (I know the thyme will). My oregano is currently in the tomato pots – not sure if I should try to save it or just start it from seed again next year (it was pretty easy). The sage will also reportedly some back, but I’m not a big sage fan, so it’s kind of OK if it doesn’t. The basil is annual, except what I’ll try to overwinter – the ones in the small planters, and some I’ve just rooted in a vase of water.

