I’m actually at the beach right now! Hatteras Island, North Carolina – heaven!

Still blooming in my garden at home is the gaillardia Arizona Sun…which I first fell in love with at the beach! When I finally figured out I could grow it at home, I was thrilled!

wild gaillardia on Hatteras Island from a previous beach trip

wild gaillardia on Hatteras Island from a previous beach trip

gaillardia in my garden this summer

gaillardia in my garden this summer

And just for inspiration, I’ll share this one. I may have mentioned it before, but a couple years ago I was SO impressed by this garden beside our rental home. Right on the ocean, I can only imagine how much work it must have taken to amend the soil and have this garden. A lot of us don’t know how lucky we have it! (and UPDATE! Turns out our house this year is right next to last year’s house (weird)! Looks like whoever tended the garden last year didn’t do it this year 😦 – will post some pics of that later).
obx-garden

Back at home, the gaillardia is really the star. Mums should be in full force when I get back, but something (bunnies? caterpillars?) has been going at my asters, so I’m not sure if they’ll bloom this year (also, I pinched them back like mums because they got SO big last year they were floppy – maybe I shouldn’t have done that?). The various rudbeckia are also slowing down, and so it the mardi gras helenium (sunshine helenium is done). Spireas are still blooming a bit, and a few carnations are sending up blooms again since it’s been cooler. Also some of my spring bulbs! That kind or worries me. Alpine rosy bells look like they’re trying to come up again….hm…

So happy LAST Bloom Day of summer, everyone! (I’m future-posting things, but if this is Mr. Linky’d, then you know I’m checking my computer on vacation!)

