I should really get out and take some pics of some flowers, eh? The first of the tiny mums I got on clearance last year for 50¢ each have started to bloom already, and I’m thinking about killing my hanging baskets, which never really looked great this year (they’re the same I did last year and I was very happy with them then. Annoyed about that). So it seems that fall is upon us. But since I still have one more beach vacation left in a couple weeks, it’s not over for me yet, dammit.

CAMC_1_png_242The CSA theme lately has been TOMATOES. It’s great, of course, but what with the CSA, my garden, and all that I got from the neighbor, at this point I’m kinda like gaaaaah tomatoes!?!?! I used the last of what I had a couple days ago to make more pasta sauce and this Carmelized Cherry Tomato Sauce (minus the onions – I used onion powder), which was very good – though I still have some to use). I might use the batch from this week to make some more salsa or something. I don’t know.

carmelized cherry tomatoes for sauce

carmelized cherry tomatoes for sauce

CSA week 7: spaghetti squash, sweet jimmy nardello peppers, hot pepper, tomatoes

CSA week 7: spaghetti squash, sweet jimmy nardello peppers, hot pepper, tomatoes

CSA week 8: eggplant, tomatoes, jimmy nardello pepper, tomatillos, okra!!, (sharer got the watermelon)

CSA week 8: eggplant, tomatoes, jimmy nardello pepper, tomatillos, okra!!, (sharer got the watermelon)

All in all, I’ve been VERY happy with the whole CSA deal! My CSA sharer and I are planning on signing up for the winter harvest as well. I’ve found a couple new things I like (courge de longe squash, squash fritters, green tomatoes, real new potatoes), have gotten some new skills (um spaghetti sauce by the bucketload), and have even gotten the hubby to try new things (tomatoes, eggplant, squash, okra) – some of which he actually liked! My only complaints are sometimes being overwhelmed with one thing (esp if I was taking a whole share! And I know this sometimes can’t be helped), and not having some things I was looking forward to (corn! more cucumbers! and peppers for salsa would be nice, although I grow enough of those in my garden anyway). It’s also a bit of a drive for me to get there once a week, but since I’m sharing with a friend who lives closer, we’re able to work things out so I don’t always have to drive all the way there. But all in all, I’ve had to buy very little produce all summer and we’ve been very well stocked. I highly recommend CSAs, especially for those who really don’t want to do any gardening of their own and still want delicious, home grown, produce. And it really is a good deal, too – I would have had to pay a lot more for this local produce if I’d bought it from the local grocery store that stocks local produce.

I’m trying to figure out a few things for fall/winter. I have some hostas planted in large plastic pots. Do I need to put them in the ground (prob temporarily in the veggie garden)??? Also I’m not sure if I want to try any fall crops. If I do, I’m not really sure when to start them or where to get them. I don’t really see any veggie starts around in the fall, so I feel like I’d have to start them myself, which I haven’t done yet. Plus it’s still in the 90s here, so it’s too hot to plant anything outside that really wants cool weather. Advice?? I do have a fun thing planned for my pansies this year, so I’m excited about being able to plant them when the time comes.

I’ll try to get more flower news next time. I have to take pics of my zinnias (all in bloom now, and a bunch in colors other than pink!) and the crazy long mutant sweet potato vine that is growing like 6 inches a day on the deck. And to close, some pictures of cats being bad.

Hank

Hank

Alice

Alice

Note: Cats are NOT allowed the counter. She sooo knows this.

Note: Cats are NOT allowed the counter. She sooo knows this.

