So the other day I mentioned that our neighbors across the street came over to my hubby when he was outside and said that they would be on vacation this week and we should take as many tomatoes as we wanted to they wouldn’t go to waste. Also the other day you saw the nice stash of tomatoes I have from my garden and the CSA. I was planning on making some sauce and salsa today to freeze, so I figured I’d go over and pick some tomatoes to use for that. When I was done…

tomatoes, anyone?

tomatoes, anyone?


…I ended up with 4 giant canvas shopping bags FULL of tomatoes!! (Like, it was actually a bit of a struggle to run across the street with them.) I already called my aunt who lives nearby and she doesn’t need any, but will take some so her customers can grab some (she cuts hair). I’ll also give some to my mom and hubby’s mom, and maybe my CSA partner if they’re OK that long?? There are a variety of kinds – mostly large red slicer varieties, but also some roma/paste-types. some were labeled – will have to check next time I go. I figure I can probably get at LEAST one more bag full mid-week, then I can leave the rest to be ripe when they get back. I’ll also clean up the pile of rotted ones I made and put that in my composter.

This dude should meet the orange guy from the CSA.

This dude should meet the orange guy from the CSA.


Each plant had at least 4 or 5 that needed to be picked, 3 more that could be, plus a lot of green maters.

Each plant had at least 4 or 5 that needed to be picked, 3 more that could be, plus a lot of green maters.


clearly these are happy tomato plants - weeds are blocked with newspaper I noticed - and do a pretty darn good job

clearly these are happy tomato plants


They also have cantaloupes, corn, peppers, and squash.

They also have cantaloupes, corn, peppers, and squash.


My normal envious view (from my driveway).

My normal envious view (from my driveway).

