This week our CSA guy dubbed “the week of tomatoes” – and holycrap he was right! Combine what we got with the CSA stuff and garden stuff I had from last week and ummm I’m going to be making some salsa and sauce and freezing it or SOMETHING! Plus today apparently our neighbors across the street came over while my hubby was outside and said that they are going on vacation next week, so we could take as many tomatoes as we wanted from their (VERY large tomato section) garden so they won’t go to waste. How nice is that?! I’m going to leave them a nice little thank you note, and maybe some dried herbs in their door with it? Or would the herbs be weird? I guess I can see if they have any of their own, and if not it might be nice. I don’t really know when they’re coming back, so I don’t want to leave anything that will spoil. hmm. (Yup, I will probably also sneak a couple pics.)

from my garden: jalapenos, golden sunburst tomatoes, roma tomatoes

from my garden: jalapenos, golden sunburst tomatoes, roma tomatoes

CSA stuff plus my stuff - actually more than it looks like, believe it or not!! And again, this is only half a membership.

CSA stuff plus my stuff - actually more than it looks like, believe it or not!!

How cute is this guy?! He looks sad/confused/contemplative.

How cute is this guy?! He looks sad/confused/contemplative.

Not a good pic bc it was night, but eggplants are SO photogenic and adorable.

Not a good pic bc it was night, but eggplants are SO photogenic and adorable.

practically knee-deep in tomatoes, I swear!

practically knee-deep in tomatoes, I swear!

TO DO:

  • cut dead blooms off of heucheras
  • pull dead foliage off of daylilies
  • pull dead bloom sticks off of daylilies and harvest seeds
  • cut back cosmos and save some more seeds to share with others
  • trim evergreens in pots so that some of the trunk is showing – this will hopefully allow them to get water better, since they’re drying out
  • have hubby help plant the last of the perennials I got on sale – heuchera, echinacea, aster, rudbeckia, hosta
  • also plant the chamomile I started from seed not too long ago so it can bloom and go to seed this year and spread next year – somewhere in the side garden
  • clean car
  • watch hubby play vs local radio station in softball game
  • do Bloom Day post
  • do post on our Cash for Clunkers experience (we got a new truck!)
  • Advertisements