Picture 12I feel like all I’m posting lately is my CSA goods! Oh well. I just haven’t been doing much in my own garden lately, though I do hope to get the rest of the perennials in the ground next weekend with my hubby’s help. I’ve been heavy into tomatoes lately, which is fine. Between the CSA and my garden, I have a ton! I’ve lately moved on from salsa and have started making my own spaghetti sauce with actual tomatoes (I usually make my own sauce anyway so I don’t have to deal with onions or meat, but I used a can of tomato sauce and and a can of paste and my own herbs and seasonings. Using actual tomatoes is a very different taste – both are good, but this one feels very fresh and summery. Perfect with some angel hair pasta.). So before the CSA tour, a quick recipe.

Tomato sauce is hard to photograph well, especially at night! But trust me, it's yummy!

Tomato sauce is hard to photograph well, especially at night! But trust me, it's yummy!

Jennah’s Fresh Summer Tomato Sauce
OR try Jennah’s EVEN BETTER Summer Tomato Sauce on a later post…

1. Chop and mince well (I use my small electric chopper – a food processor or blender would probably also work well) about a quart or so of roma and cherry tomatoes. Throw in some yellow and orange cherries if you can. If you are using very juicy tomatoes instead of roma, you may want to strain them a bit before adding them to the saucepan.

2. Chop up (in chopper or by hand) a handful of oregano and basil. A little lemon balm too, if you have it.

3. Put it all in a sauce pan and add about 2 tablespoons or so of olive oil. Also about 1/4 cup of white wine, if you have it. Also add: about 1/2 cup of sugar, salt to taste (about 1 teaspoon?) and a bit of pepper.

4. Add 1 small can of tomato paste and stir (without the paste, it tends to be too runny and won’t stick to any noodles). Cook on med-low covered until it starts to bubble, then turn it all the way down to low for about 10 minutes uncovered. Stir occasionally (you’ll need to mix in that paste once it starts to warm up).

5. Enjoy! It’s best after being in the fridge for a day or so, but also great right away. Lmk if you try it!

And now for the tour of Even’ Star Farms, my CSA. The farm is very pretty, but I will say it’s not “neat.” Certainly they have better things to worry about than cutting the grass and (gah) trimming, but it is a bit hairy (it’s also organic, so no evil things to get rid of weeds, I suppose). Not that I care, just sayin’ sometimes I want to bring over my lawnmower and tidy it up, as is my nature as a neat-freak. I’d also just love to stroll around the place because it’s sooooo tranquil and gorgeous. Most of it is edible farming, but they also have several areas of cut flowers and just decorative flowers (sometimes they include cut flowers with CSA membership stuff, reportedly) which I haven’t explored as much, especially up closer to the house, which you pass when going to pick up your goods (people DO live there, after all!). Such a pretty place, though! Farm pick-up members just drive up, park, walk to a room in the barn, and pick stuff up! I was a little confused this Thursday because the door I usually use was bolted, but I figured out that we were supposed to use the back door.

driving to the CSA on a rainy day - tomato field on the left, behind trees

driving to the CSA on a rainy day - tomato field on the left, behind (apple?) trees

the fields

the fields

raindrops on roses

raindrops on roses

whiskers on...chickens?

whiskers on...chickens?

sooo tempting - their tomatoes ready to be delivered to various farmers' markets

sooo tempting - their tomatoes ready to be delivered to various farmers' markets

Grab one! Boxes ready for "farm pick-up" members in the shed

Grab one! Boxes ready for "farm pick-up" members in the shed

our full box of goodies

our full box of goodies

seriously, SO tempting! But farm pick-up members do get bonuses, like extra cukes this week.

seriously, SO tempting! But farm pick-up members do get bonuses, like extra cukes this week.

path back to the parking area - very mucky today.

path back to the parking area - very mucky today.

puddles and cart

puddles and cart

corn and flowers - can't wait to get some corn!

corn and flowers - can't wait to get some corn!

hibiscus? near the parking area

hibiscus? near the parking area

hibiscus? close-up

hibiscus? close-up

I think this must be the cutting garden - not much to cut atm.

I think this must be the cutting garden - not much to cut atm.

my half-share back at home - I used about half those rainbow cherries for my tomato sauce

my half-share back at home - I used about half those rainbow cherries for my tomato sauce

