I like the sunshine helenium much better now that it’s bloomed, but it still needs to be moved in the fall. It’s too damn tall and it will crowd out the daylily near it. I’ll have to find something else interesting to plant in that spot.

mardi gras helenium, rudbeckia cherry brandy, sushine helenium

mardi gras helenium, rudbeckia cherry brandy, sushine helenium (all of which look sad from an early-on lack of rain) 😦

It is kind of cool that they’re all different, though. I think I’m still partial to the more painted on look of the mardi gras, but the sunshine is very pretty.

sunshine helenium

sunshine helenium

sunshine helenium

sunshine helenium

And now on to the veggie garden. Sorry for the kind of crap pics (view full size and magnify to see better), but I always take these in the evening when I get home from work, and by then the sun isn’t quite right for the best pics. Have to remember to take some earlier ones on the weekends. Everything in the veggie garden is doing well. We’ve had a bit of rain lately, so I haven’t used the soaker hose in a few weeks. I’m not sure how the advice to pick off lower leaves of tomato plants below the first set of flowers has worked out – supposedly it makes the stems stronger, but some of mine are still floppy (great, now I’ll get MORE searches for that!). I know that part of the reason for that is that they could use a bit more sun – hopefully if we do the new raised bed nearer the deck, I can start alternating the tomatoes yearly to that bed, where they will get more sun. The lack of sun also means they are a bit tall – which means that they are starting to outgrow all my cages – triangle cages (love them), standard tomato cages, and trellises with bambo. Oh well – I’ll make it work. I’m already miles better than last year.

They are still producing fine – between the tomatoes and peppers, I probably pick about 5 or 6 veggies a day. Not too shabby! And the herbs – my god the herbs! Would you like any??? It’s great though – I’m giving them away, and when they start to wane, I’ll dry or freeze them and have plenty for all winter long. Also – check out the GIANT cactus zinnia! I had no idea they got like this. Def going to (more strategically) plant more of these next year.

veggie garden on 8/4/09

veggie garden on 8/4/09

In this garden is: rosemary, marigolds, cactus zinnia, pimento peppers, banana peppers, cayenne peppers, jalapeno peppers, cherry tomatoes (hanging), roma tomatoes, big boy tomatoes, golden tomatoes, various other heirloom tomatoes, common sage, sweet basil, opal basil (in pot), cilantro (in pot), lemon verbena.

And look what I scored at a local nursery’s tent sale! Two large terra cotta pots (one large enough to grow tomatoes in) with small cracks – one for $7 and one for $3. Also 2 creme brulee heucheras (which I’ve wanted! Now I ummm have to figure out where to put them) and a yellow big sky coneflower (yeah, I have like 40 coneflowers on order from Springhill, but ummmmm I got this one, too). Might check back later on when they tend to put more of the decoration-type stuff on sale later in the year. I got a bunch of smaller pots last year at their tent sale for like $1 a piece.

sale pots

sale pots

heucheras and coneflower

heucheras and coneflower

And just for my hubby, who asked me this morning before getting his wisdom teeth out why I posted the crappy picture of him from the pub in my last post – a GOOD picture of him from the bar (and a not great one of me). It is HARD to find a good one of the two of us when either 1- I miss you when taking a 2-person self photo or 2- We are both in the picture but you are making a retarded face on purpose. Got it?? ❤

pub pic 2

pub pic 2

On a related note, I need to start blogging about general bitching about things as well as gardening. That is really my forté. We’ll see if it happens. In the mean time, I am picking up another CSA delivery tomorrow and am going to try to sneak some pics of the place…ssshhhhhhh….

