This summer, I’ve joined a local CSA. I’m splitting the subscription with a friend. This week was the first summer harvest, and I went and picked up the first box today! It’s really well organized. They send out an email each week telling you what you’ll be getting (exact names and everything!) with a few suggestions for prep or storage. They also have a great looking cookbook written by them that they’ll sometimes refer to with the box (ie next week they are supposed to be giving us stuff that will make some salad dressing in the book).

CSA week 1

CSA week 1


Note that what’s pictured is only half of the box, and a few of the things are one-offs to give us a taste of what’s to come.

  • new potatoes
  • garlic
  • carrots w/tops
  • grape tomatoes
  • arugula
  • leeks
  • tomatillo
  • cucumber
  • a bag of basil (didn’t take any of this since I have more than enough of my own!

And now, a couple questions. Are these green tomatoes? Don’t be a smartass. Like, I mean I know they are green and are tomatoes, but are they that will forever be green and are, as such, ready to pick and somehow be eaten? I don’t know how to tell! It’s one of my mystery hybrids. Help!

green tomatoes

green tomatoes

And question #2 is: Why do calatheas hate me? I gave up on one, but this other one has been doing well in my office for a few years. I keep it moist like it likes and have it in standard office lighting. Now all of a sudden, the bastard is turning yellow on me! I’ve already cut off the brown/yellow a few times but it continues to spread down the leaf. Gah why do they hate me? Well if this one doesn’t make it, no more calatheas luring me from the plant rescue rack at Lowe’s!

Sad Calathea is sad. :(

Sad Calathea is sad. 😦

