I took some pics of some berries the other day and was going to post them to try and figure out what they were. The leaves looked kind of like poison ivy, and the berries looked like blackberries and raspberries. When my parents were here last night for the 4th of July, I asked her what they were. Turns out, they’re BLACKBERRIES (duh).

wild blackberries!

wild blackberries!

This is awesome! I love blackberries! (Don’t really like raspberries, but love blackberries.) Also, we’ve recently gotten hold of my hubby’s parents’ old split rail fence they took down and were planning of planting some berries on it when we put it up at the edge of our yard! Well, I guess now we know berries do well in our yard! (I had some on my English muffins this AM – soooo good.)

mature wild blackberries (blurry, sorry)

mature wild blackberries (blurry, sorry)


immature wild blackberries

immature wild blackberries

I want to try and dig up some of these plants, but the only problem is that they are among a TON of underbrush that neither of my neighbors take care of. Who knows what’s living in there. The only other good plant I know of is the two honeysuckle bushes I like. I know there is a ton of poison ivy around my one neighbor’s yard, so I don’t know – can we get in there now and dig some up? I feel like when there are no berries, they’ll be almost impossible to find among the poison ivy, arrowhead vine, Virginia creeper, et al.

my neighbors' evil borders that harbor delish fruits

my neighbors' evil borders that harbor delish fruits


Do you spy the berries? Think this one is to obvious to steal from :(

Do you spy the berries? Think this one is too obvious to steal from 😦

Not to mention that a few of the best ones are *technically* on neighbors’ property. Our property is kind of a triangle, so we have the neighbors nasty invasive weed population to deal with already. Though I think one would be too obvious to sneak (even though they have no idea what they have! This is the neighbor that likes to cut down giant trees and just leave the logs in the yard), I think the other neighbor really wouldn’t care and wouldn’t notice (this is the neighbor that tilled up a large garden I envy and never planted a darn thing in it). So….what do you think I should do? There are SO many bushes, I could really have a lot of delish berries all season.

wild blackberries

wild blackberries


wild blackberries - the goldmine

wild blackberries - the goldmine

This brings me to another important question. Are black raspberries and blackberries different? I’ve always wondered this, especially since my favorite jam/jelly sometimes shows up in the store as ‘blackberry’ and sometimes as ‘black raspberry’ – same label and picture and everything, but with the berry names switched in all places. Turns out they are NOT the same! I also found this site last night, which has a cool way to tell the diff between raspberries and blackberries (rasp are hollow and leave a thing behind, black do not). Note – it is amusing that on that site, you can get the info as a PDF for your blackberry 🙂

blackberry foliage

blackberry foliage

So – how should I go about stealing these berry bushes, folks?

UPDATE! 7/6/09I found out you can root them! So I took a bunch of cuttings today and potted them up with some rooting hormone. After that, I took the brush killer to the nearby poison ivy (god how I hate it), only to find out that it also kills blackberries! So then I had to vigorously water the frigging poison ivy to get rid of the brush killer and hopefully save the berries. FAIL. I’m sure they’ll be fine. We’ve sprayed brush killer in various corners before to try to get rid of the poison ivy, and obviously both the poison ivy AND the blackberries have come back (and it says they’re safe to eat after x amount of days – obv these will not be organic blackberries or anything, but I’ll def be more careful in the future). Now everywhere I turn, thankfully, I am recognizing blackberry vines as what I once thought were poison ivy! We still have more than our fair share of the bad stuff, though. I guess until the neighbor decides to do something (which I do not forsee anytime soon), we’ll just have to enjoy the blackberries and deftly avoid the evil weeds!

