Do not plant zinnias right beside the basil. They look freaking the same.

Zinnia, you are not an herb.

Zinnia, you are not an herb.

Below is a shot of the garden on Friday, 6/2/09. I’m future-posting this to Sunday, so as we speak I may be in the garden doing something to it. The magic of teh internets! Every single tomato plant, including the ones I started from seed, has tomatoes on it except the 2 smallest ones in pots in the driveway (planted very late) and the large one in the pot in the driveway whose blossoms keep falling off probably because of the ants. It looks like I’m going to have a shit-ton of roma tomatoes this year – I had no idea they were about as profilic as cherries. Not a bad thing, though! I like romas – not too gooey. Also please note the *freaking adorable* windchime I got from JoAnne’s Fabrics a couple weeks ago at 60% off. It has little buckets and watering cans!! My mom actually got the same one as a gift this spring. They have another one with little shovels and cultivators, too. I’ll def be trying to hit the store up again (they usually go to 75% off before everything is gone) and might have to get one of those. Last year I got 2 of those shepherd’s hooks you see and the trellises the tomatoes on the back right are growing on for crazy crazy cheap.

veggie garden 6/2/09

veggie garden 6/2/09

My black-eyed susan is now blooming. So pretty – a nice big leafy plant that is also covered in blooms for a lot of the summer. Can’t ask for much more than that. It’s the state flower of Maryland, so you see lots of random and wild varieties growing on the side of the road.

susan with shadows

susan with shadows

petal embrace

petal embrace

