On Friday, I moved stuff around in the new garden that had been bugging me. The pics are kind of crappy, but you get the idea. I have some pretty container pics (ooooooohhhh!) I’m going to post soon.

First, I moved the carnations into a more concentrated group closer to the house. Though these do occasionally rebloom in the summer, their main bloom time is spring. They can be closer to the house because when they’re blooming, everything else is just emerging, so they won’t be blocked. Even after blooming, they still have nice foliage and stayed evergreen for me all last winter (a very cold winter for z7, too). I also moved a nasturtium to under the rose bush – as it spreads, it should cover up the ugly rose foliage I don’t want to spend the time to save (the flowers are pretty, the foliage looks awful). (click on all pics for bigger)

section of wave petunias

section of wave petunias

In the spot where the carnations were, I left a small area next to the moonbeam coreopsis that’s there already so I can eventually plant more of the coreopsis that i’ll get from my mom. It’s not moonbeam, it’s a darker yellow, but mostly the same. This will bloom after the carnations, and with deadheading will hopefully bloom pretty much all summer long.

In front of that spot, I planted some wave petiunias I got at an end of season sale at a greenhouse on the way home from work. Petunias don’t do well in pots for me in my full-sun areas (they’d need to be watered at least 2x a day), but I always admire the big areas of wave petunias shopping centers have in the ground. Sooo simple, but when they spread out the impact is really pretty and they seem to do fine in the ground with the zero attentiont that I’m sure Old Navy gives them. Hopefully these will spread like that and in a few weeks look very nice. They are red with white tips.

Down at the skinny part, I took out the gaura and moved it over beside the other gaura in the side garden. In its place, I planted a rosemary that had been in a pot all summer and looked pretty bad. I have another rosemary in the veggie garden that I use for herbs, but I’m thinking maybe I can keep this one trimmed but let it grow and actually flower if it recovers. Cosmos, includng the little seedlings I took from my parents’ garden, are planted beside it and in between the white coneflowers (not blooming yet) and the mini iris (done blooming). Liriope lines te whole front and there are daylilies sprinkled in the top section.

new driveway garden fixes

new driveway garden fixes

The limerock ruby coreopsis I moved is now beside the other limerock ruby and a yellow one from my mom. A mini hollyhock that is the same color as the limerock ruby is behind there, too. Behind the threadleaf ones, I planted the broadleaf  “indian summer” (I think) coreopsis I got last week from Lowe’s for $2 each. (Also, I think a groundhog did NOT eat the roots of one of the rubies – I think I had somehow not planted it deep enough. I planted it deeper this time and cut off the blooms and it seems happy and willing to rebloom – we’ll see if it overwinters, figners crossed.)

Hopefully this does the trick. I’m sure I’ll move something else, but I’m sure once it all fills in more by the end of the summer, I’ll have a better idea. I know the daylilies that are so small now will be HUGE like my other ones, so it’s hard to leave so much space for them that just looks empty now! The top part of the garden is full sun, while the bottom part is part sun, as you can see from the pic (which was taken around 6pm or so).

