What an odd day. Ed McMahon died earlier in the week and today we lose Farrah Fawcett and Michael Jackson. Go fig. Anyway, I’ve been taking care of my parents’ cats and plants while they’re away, so today I took out the camera and snapped a few pics. I’m SURE she won’t mind me showing off her garden πŸ™‚

I really love her containers. Mine tend to be just one or two kinds of plants. I should do this more, though. So pretty!

container

container

Have a pine needle problem? Try doing what my parents did and just rake them all up and turn it into a cute sitting area.
momswing1

The flowers on this giant hollyhock are pretty, but I really like the buds, too.

hollyhock buds

hollyhock buds

I’ve decided I really like coneflowers and I’d like to start a little collection of them. They’re a great way to brighten things up and can mask some earlier bloomers like my asiatic lilies. I’m thinking about buying this collection from Springhill and using the $25 coupon offer. A friend would also like some, so I can give her a bunch of them as well. I know I’ve had issues with Springhill in the past, but I figure they can’t deliver them in the snow THIS time! It ends up being less than $1 a plant (pre-shipping), so that’s a darn good deal. Or – are coneflowers easy and fast to start from seed?

momcone

coneflower

coneflower

As a little bonus of the watering plants job, I took the cosmos seedlings my mom had asked me to thin. I have a bunch of seedlings I started late, too, but I think I’m going to add some of them to containers and also to fill out the garden I’m not thrilled with, so I’ll take em!

perks

perks

Mom, if you check my blog again while on vacation, this is proof your plants are still pretty! Maybe tomorrow I’ll take a pic of the cats to prove they are, too πŸ™‚

