I leave for Hawaii soon! SO excited about it. As of today, I have never been farther west than Philly! A lot of my flowers here are just starting to bloom, and thankfully I have my mom and dad to take care of my plants and cats while I’m gone. It’ll be interesting to see how much grass pokes through the heavy mulch in the new garden while we’re gone and how many of those awful locust trees and arrowhead vines start to pop up everywhere. boooo. (Sorry for the boring no pics post. It’s still raining. I will make up for it with jealous-worthy Hawaii pics in a couple weeks. I think I’m actually going to take the computer to Hawaii so we can watch movies and stuff on the plane, so I can REALLY make all you twitterers jealous!!)

Blooming today:

  • spiderwort – sweet kate and another variety
  • carnations are finally bursting into bloom – pink ones are first
  • new creeping phlox
  • other dianthus – a creeping one and a new one I need to remember the name of
  • sweet potato vine and lobelia
  • million bells are just starting
  • marigolds and new guinea impatiens

Things I should do before Hawaii:

  • plant royal burgundy bush beans – probably one in a large pot and one in the garden.
  • hang container that has sweet potato vines and lobelia in it
  • plant candytuft, liriope, stonecrop, red coneflower, bee balm, and whatever else I buy on Saturday for the new garden
  • plant as many of the new seedlings as possible (opal basil, poppy, cilantro, cosmos, zinnia) – the rest will go to my parents’ house for the week to make sure they don’t dry out without being watered all the time.
  • possibly mulch the back bed
  • possibly divide the giant frigging daylily on the corner of the front bed that I’ve divided TWICE A YEAR for the past 2 years since I got the division from my mom. The thing is a mutant! Not sure the variety – I think this is a pic of that one up close. I know this is a pic of it later in the season. (I can’t believe how much bigger the dianthus are that are in this pic! I’ll have to try to remember to take a comparison one on Saturday.
