I got my free tomato seeds in from Campbell’s! I think the offer is still good if you’re interested. Link is in my original post. And now, the unboxing!

the mailer

the mailer

tadaa!

tadaa!

So there ya go. You get a packet of seeds, a coupon for soup, a thank you for requesting seeds and therefore helping to donate seeds to others (however that works), and some lovely marketing info. One thing that is definitely NOT present is information on exactly what KIND of tomato seeds are in the package. I already have a bunch of mystery heirloom tomato seedlings anyway, many of which I’ll have to give away or trade (no room for all of those!), plus I plan on buying some small plants (Better Boy, probably, since those did well last year). from a local Amish/Mennonite plant farm in a month or so. I’ll also probably do one cherry tomato in a hanging basket in the garden this year. So these Campbell’s mystery seeds will either be saved until next year or experimentally sown in some pots outdoors later (prob after the Hawaii trip in early May). I have always wanted to do the thing where you put seedlings in tomato soup/sauce cans and give them away. So maybe I’ll do that. Though I can do that with the heirlooms I have. So anyway – freebie success! Now an update on MY seedlings.

Heirloom Tomato Mix

Heirloom Tomato Mix

most of the seedlings (but not all)

the whole gang (except those in yogurt cups)

Also, I have made a breakthrough in planning! When I used the coupon (see last post’s To Do list – ps I did not go to the gym today due to my cat not letting me sleep), I bought 2 Arizona Sun Gaillardia, 8 cells of lettuce (red sail and buttercruch, shared with my mom), and a cute little garden stone that says “herbs.” It was one I’d eyed in the fall on their sale table (regularly overpriced at $29.95, but marked down to $5.99), and it was still there, so it needed to come home with me (might try to make some of my own with my stepping stone kits and mosaic supplies). I put the herbs sign down temporarily in my annual bed by the deck stairs when I got home and – bing! – realized I should plant herbs here!

It’s near the kitchen, sunny enough, and spacious enough. I’ll probably expand the bed a bit as it’s only about 3-4 sq feet, prob (I seem to expand this bed a bit each year) and will also still plant herbs on the deck in a large terra cotta azalea pot purchased for that purpose, but I can put perennial herbs in this bed and not worry about them overtaking the pot. Genius, if I do say so myself. I’ll leave the one rosemary in the food garden proper, since there is a small potted one on the deck now. I’ll move the lemon thyme over to the new area when it wakes up. Yay! Now I’ll have a good spot for perennial herbs. Now I can get more perennial herbs! Currently I just have rosemary, the lemon thyme, and some sage seedlings. I’ll plant some of my many nasturtium seedlings there for some annual color and interest (there is also a clematis on a trellis, and some daffodils in spring which oddly did not bloom this year). Oh – I did also notice that the nursery I used the coupon at sells Botanical Interests seeds! That’s great – I was going to order online from them next year prob, but now I can just get them locally!

