They are, they really are. But it’s starting to get warmer fir good, so no complaints. Got a lot of stuff done outside today. Gave the lawn (/weeds) their first cut of the season The grass didn’t really need it, but the onions and other weeds did. I took a lot of pics, so I’m going to divide them into two posts.

Poker Vase

Poker Vase

I cut some daffs yesterday and put them in this cool little poker vase my mom got me for xmas. We got it at a local craft show (so it is local and handmade). I insisted I didn’t need it, but she ended up going back and getting it for me. I’m glad, because I really like it! I’ll def use it all summer long as I can cut flowers.

seedsoutsideI took the seeds outside for another vacay. It was windy, so that helps them I guess. Those nasturtiums are getting out of control, so it frigging better get warm enough to plant them outside soon! The roots are all out the bottoms, and they’re waaaay taller than the other plants in their tray. They’re also starting to twist all over themselves and their little tendrils are starting to grow – these are climbing nasturtiums! So…yes please get warm. My salad greens need to go in their pot outside, dammit!

hyacinth

hyacinth


^As you can see, the hyacinths are about to burst.

oops - bad planting

oops - bad planting


^But now that the daffs and tulips are up, I see I didn’t pick a great spot to plant these or the early stardrift. They get totally overshadowed. Ugh, I hate to move them, but I think I may have to do some bulb rearranging after they’re done blooming. I’d like to group my daffs and minidaffs better, too.

early stardrift

early stardrift


^Speaking of early stardrift, it’s a gorgeous little bulb! I got it in a big “dutch treat” bulb pack from Breck’s that I split with a friend in the fall. Had never heard of them, but I really like them! White with little blue stripes. Need to move them to a place where they can be seen a bit better, though.

ghetto trellis

ghetto trellis


^ And for the last pic of the day, enjoy my ghetto trellis. I wanted to make a “natural” one for my sweet pea flowers and climbing nasturtiums. I have a ton of twigs in the yard and a lot of grapvine, so I gathered some. Then I stuck them in a pot and tied at a couple crucial places with green garden tie. Well, it looks super ghetto. Of course it doesn’t help that the pot it’s in is all beat up. This is a pot that usually lives beside the shed and has some snapdragons in it that I let reseed each year. It’s gotten whacked by the weedwhacker and lawnmower more than a few times, so I patched it with some duct tape. Normally I would so this to the inside of the pot, but I wasn’t going to empty the dirt out to do it. Sooooo….ghetto trellis. I pushed in a few sweet pea seeds and some more climbing nasturtium seeds. It’s still really technically before last frost, but we’ll see how they do. Usually last frost here isn’t until May 1. It gets warm before then, but the temp fluctuates a lot, so there’s still a good chance of some light frost before then. I’d like to make some more of these trellises for various things, but I need to work on making them look more “rustic” and less ghetto.

k – rest of the pics will post later this week. I know you’re waiting with anticipation! oh – quick poll question. Do my pics take forever to load? My hubby looked on his computer and they took a long time. Trying to figure out if big pics or thumbnails are better. LMK what you think in a comment, if you are so obliged.

