It’s my second bloom day! I actually have some blooms outside, so that’s exciting. One thing that is definitely NOT in bloom is my cyclamen that was beautiful on Valentine’s Day when my husband got it for me. It’s just too warm in my house at 70°, I guess. So it slowly yellowed and I cut it down and put it outside. I’ll plant it when it gets warmer, and hopefully it’ll come back outside next year. Now on to things that ARE blooming on this rainy day.

crocus in the rain

crocus in the rain


daff1
raindrops on a daffodil

raindrops on a daffodil


quince w/raindrop

quince w/raindrop

And as a grand finale, the mystery bulb does appear to be a daffodil (look towards the bottom of the pic below). If that one stays, I might have to plant to friends there for it this year. Not a bad spot for some daffs, anyway, and I do have a pot coming in next week from the Daffodil Days for Cancer thing I sponsored at work this year (must remember to post about that when they come in – will have to sneak some pics at work!). The daylilies are also coming up! The bed looks pretty sparse now, but it fills in fairly well, and hopefully the stuff I’ve ordered from Bluestone will also help with that. Also I really need to get to weeing and put in an order for a couple truckloads of mulch with the nursery that is conveniently located about a mile from my house. If only it would stay warm so I can feel good about removing all the old foliage that provides a bit of protection. Come on, weather!

Signs of spring making themselves obvious.

Signs of spring making themselves obvious.

Also, to end the post, a confession. I planted my daffodils and tulips in SLOP. They line the front of the “driveway bed.” Sigh. What can I say. I suppose I planted them before I knew that this was an affliction. But I’ve since planted more bulbs around them, and they should still clump up fairly nicely as time goes on and I add more in. Please don’t hold this against me. More details on the condition as more blooms arrive.

I will also admit a Freudian Slip. When I first write this post and went to preview it to make edits, I realized I’d titled it “Bloom Day – May 2009.” Sigh. Wishful thinking? On Bloom Day in May, I’ll actually be in Hawaii, and my mom will be looking after my plants for a week!

