Friday - Snow-Ogelthorpe's Final Bow

Friday - Snow-Ogelthorpe

Well, the snow is gone. The pic at left was taken just as I got home from work on Friday. As soon as I was about to push the shutter button, the hat fell off! Talk about timing. Yesterday he was just a tiny snowball (pic in the gallery below), and today he’s totally gone, I’m sure. Yesterday was gorgeous, though. Unfortunately, I got some very unexpected very bad news about a friend of the family that made it a little less gorgeous. Still, I was able to get a lot done to attempt to take my mind off things (these things always make you think about parents, family members, and the future).

I bought some seeds and seed starting trays! I really want to try seeds officially this year. Among herbs and stuff, I got seeds for nasturtium, which I’ve never seen for sale around here and always found pretty – and wanted to try in salads and stuff. Also got a bright yellow/orange/red mix of cosmos. I’ve never ‘officially’ started stuff from seed before. Last year I had some free packets of cosmos, parsley, and basil that I basically just threw in a pot and they grew! Well, except for the parsley, but I see on its packet now that you’re supposed to soak that seed, so maybe that’s why that was a dud. I’m still usind the dried basil leaves from the summer though. I also got a large azalea pot that I’m hoping to be able to transplant all my little herb seedlings into. Then, apart from my perennial rosemary and lemon thyme, I’ll have basil, oregano, parsley, cilantro, and sage (and nasturtium). I will admit that I did get the sage specifically because at the end of the summer, I got these cute little pots for $1 that say “sage” on them. But I think that’s good enough reason – I’ll figure out how to use it!

Also updates on the bird news. Thanks to @gettingdirty, I’ve identified this mystery bird (on left) as a dark-eyed junco. It’s related to the snow bunting, the bird my mom suggested, but a more common and more southern-found variety.

I have roughly a ton of pics slated to post, so I’ll try to save some so spread them out through the week. Later in the week I plan to do a “pretty weeds I have found” post, since I randomly was able to get on ID’d via twitter last night. Who says twitter isn’t great??

