Me, on Pickles the horse, at a county fair performance

Me, on Pickles the horse, at a county fair performance

I was supposed to go see the Washington Ballet in one of the awesome $5 local performances they do here last night with my mom (I danced from the time I was 4 through college, so I enjoy going to see that stuff when I can). Turns out notsomuch. It was cancelled (prob a combo of contract disputes/recent death of someone involved with the company). We have tickets for an April performance too, so hopefully that one’s still on. It’s great to seem them in the small auditorium of the local community college. Only bad thing about it is that it usually makes me want to dance again! And it’s just hard to fit it in and find a class where I wouldn’t be dancing with 10 y/os. Sigh.

But anyway, I still had to go to my parents’ house to fix a computer problem (and also ended up doing some mother-daughter shopping), so we took the time to settle on the plants we want to order this year using the ‘coupons for suckers’ so many places send out. As soon as I finish this post, I’m going to put in the orders. I am a bit afraid they might come in while I’m in Hawaii, but I think they’ll come in earlier than that, so we’ll be OK. Hm actually might have them just delivered to my mom – just in case. It’s about 1/2 her stuff anyway. In addition to these orders, we’ll probably also find some good perennials (as well as, of course, annuals) at the local HS Tech Center’s sale, the Sotterley plant sale and the Summerseat plant sale, and the totally amazing greenhouse of one of the local Amish families.

Mom’s goals: She has an extensive backyard garden. The whole backyard is a hill, so many years ago they turned most of it into a garden, with ivy on the very sloped part. She wants to fill in the garden more, since right now a lot of it is smaller plants. It gets some sun, but in general her yard is pretty shady and she’s had trouble with plants that want more sun. So now she’s looking for more plants to fill things in that will like the shade.

Helenium Mardi Gras

Helenium Mardi Gras

My goals: Somewhat the same as my mom’s, but for a mostly sunny yard. I want to get a bunch of stuff for the back of my front garden. Right now I have a baby euonymus bush in the middle of either side, flanked by daylilies. But the bushes are sooo small, that until they get bigger in a few years, I want something else around them. Also, daylilies bloom pretty much all spring/summer for me, but I’d like something up front with more profuse blooming. So various rudbeckia in the back-ish, and gallardia in the front is my plan. I am a bit scared with the warning that you have to let rudbeckia re-seed, as it’s not a “true” perennial. They’re so common in plantings around here though (Black-Eyed Susan is the MD state flower) that I think they should come back fine.

Springhill Nursery
– We’ve ordered from here before. We have gotten a few duds, but had no problems getting refunds for them.
Sunshine Helenium Mix – me
Royal Hellebore Mix – mom
Astilbe Bargain Bag – mom
Non-stop Begonia Super Sak – mom

Bluestone Perennials – They get good reviews, so I’m excited to see what we get from them in comparison to Springhill.
Helenium Mardi Gras – me
Galardia Arizona Sun – me
Rudbeckia Cherry Brandy – me
Rudbeckia Cappuccino – me
Viola Chantreyland (orange) – mom
Viola Lutea Splendens (yellow) – mom

Anyone have any experience with any of these plants? I can’t wait to get them in and in the ground! It’s actually kind of warm here today (well, in the 40s), but it’s also rainy and dreary. Come on, spring!

