My mom got me a finch feeder to go with my regular bird feeder a while back, because I love the bright cheery yellow finches. But I’ve lamented forever that we seem to have none at my house. I looked out this AM and there was a little redish bird at the finch feeder! Now I’ve seen them chowing down at the food bowls on the deck as well. Looks like I’m going to have to get some more finch food. So today I broke out my bird book and identified some birds. I’ll have to keep on top of this a little more to see what all we have here.

black cap chickadee

black cap chickadee


male house finch

male house finch


male house sparrow

male house sparrow


white throat sparrow

white throat sparrow

I know in addition to these, we of course have Blue Jays and Cardinals. I really like the house finches, even if they are common. I’ll have to keep an eye out and work on my bird pic taking skills. Unfortunately, clicking cats frequently seem to blow my cover.

Tomorrow I will attempt to post for bloom day. Hubby got me a really pretty cyclamen for Valentine’s Day! Good job buying a potted plant instead of crazy expensive cut flowers. I gave him props 🙂

