I’ve been feeling sickly all weekend. Sore throat, runny nose, etc. Spent a bit of time outside yesterday working on some plant stakes (will post about how I made those when I make a few more and perfect the plan – I am obsessed with labeling all my plants, but hate the white markers I have now). When I woke up today, I felt fairly horrible. Throat very bad, achey all over, and throbbing headache. I moped around for a bit and then went and sat out on the deck and wandered around the yard a little. Virtual instant cure! The nice weather had probably at least something to do with me feeling bad in the first place, since it was snowy and icy here last week, but you can’t really complain about 70 degree days in February, now can you? I finally made myself get dressed and went to the grocery store, then cleaned out the fridge and freezer when I got home, since I had to buy a lot of frozen veggies (nothing good is fresh rt now, boo) and there was no room.

Hank in the window - must be a nice day!

Hank in the window - must be a nice day!

Only problem is, it’s making me covet plants and warm days more. I now have 3 catalogs: Breck’s, Springhill, and Bluestone Perrenials. I’ll prob order a couple plants from one, just have to figure out which. Everyone says Springhill is awful, but I’ve ordered twice from there. My mom’s plants aren’t thriving, but I think that’s because she has a bad habit of buying full sun plants for part sun or shade areas. We split a couple large sets or the same plants, and mine are all doing very very well. Breck’s and Springhill also have the basically $25 free deal, while Bluestone offers 15% off. All 3 places have the Mardi Gras Helenium, which I’ve decided I MUST have. Can’t decide where to plant it, but I actually saw one pic of it in a (the one you buyt it in) container and might try that (but the right way). There’s also a shorter red Helenium that I like almost as much. I’ll have to decide what to get soon. We’re actually going to visit a friend in Hawaii at the beginning of May, so I’ll have to keep an eye on when stuff is supposed to come. Going to have to wait a couple weeks to really start planting the summer stuff since we’ll be gone.



Throat starting to hurt a bit again (possibly because the sun is going down and I don’t want to deal with awkwardness/annoyance at work tomorrow?). Maybe I’ll make myself a cup of lemon green tea and figure out what I’m going to do for dinner. Thankfully, it’s supposed to be in the 50s and 60 all the rest of this week, so maybe the pansies will get a chance to bloom again. Hopefully the hard freezes are over. But with the weather here, you never know.

