brave bulbs

brave bulbs


So there are fairly remarkable and weird signs of life in parts of my garden. I have no idea why my dianthus (carnations) appear to the evergreen. I don’t think they’re supposed to be, but they look just as green as they did in the summer, minus the flowers. And though it has been warm a few days, it’s also been plenty cold enough to kill off stuff. I still have a million bells that has some green on it, and both of my spike plants that I was only going to save for a few additional weeks out of pity are still going strong. It would be pretty sweet if I could re-use the spikes in the spring. Whatever kind of seemingly creeping phlox I have is also nice and green. The one pictured here with the dianthus looks the best, but I did move the other 2 at the end of the season, so they have an excuse.
Dianthus/carnations, phlox, and brown daylilies

Dianthus/carnations, phlox, and dormant daylilies

As for the rest of the garden, I’m still enjoying the rosemary, which I know is evergreen, and the lemon thyme, which seems like it might be. The holly bushes are all berried, and the bulbs are peeking up. Frigging spring needs to hurry up. Oh well – I bought a houseplant (philodendron) at Walmart today to cope with my cold-weater blues. Can’t decide whether to leave it here or take it to work (I’m up to 6 plants there, and I do have a small cube, so eh). I think you can propigate philos just as easily and in the same way as pothos (which I have rooting all over the place and is nice and easy to deal with)? I’ll have to look that up.

Holly bush

Holly bush

lemon thyme

lemon thyme

